Walk It Out by Tricia Goyer

Walk It Out

Women often pack their lives with family, friends, and faithful service, yet still end up feeling empty and unfulfilled. In Walk It Out, Tricia Goyer demonstrates to women that walking out the mandates of Scripture allows God to spark passion and mission within them.

Whether believers realize it or not, God intended for them to do what the Bible says: adopt the orphan, take the gospel into all the world, and care for the needy. These are mandates that point believers down the path of true living and eternal life.

Sometimes those steps are easy, but many times they require a move outside of what feels safe or secure. When women stop focusing on their own dreams and purposes, and instead focus on God’s dreams and purposes, everything changes.

Fully transparent about her life, both past and present, author Tricia Goyer challenges us to find what God has called each of us to do….then do it. As she tells us, God will provide the resources, strength, and courage.

This book has stretched my thinking. It has made me uncomfortable at times. And it has re-ignited the desire to do what God has called me, personally, to do. That may mean doing it afraid but as we walk out our calling God is right there.

With reflections and action steps at the end of each chapter I have been using this as a devotional. It’s definitely a book I will return to as I learn to Walk It Out.

I received a complimentary copy of this book but was not required to leave a review.


Psalm 91 Come into the Secret Place by Dianne M. Hall

Come into the secret place

When the path of life gets to be too much, too hard, too busy, too stressful, every person is invited to God’s place. He provides a refuge for us. I like to call it “The Secret Place.” In this Secret Place, God delivers you, strengthens you, encourages you, and shows you who He is and who you are. Come!

This debut book by author Dianne M. Hall is a wonderful devotional! Dianne breaks down the beautiful work of Psalm 91 verse by verse and supports each chapter with many scripture verses. At the end of each chapter you will find specific prayers for that topic, as well as a place to write and process what you have learned.

Weaving her life experiences into Come into the Secret Place, you will be encouraged and strengthened while discovering what a wonderful Father we have. Life can be full of trouble and turmoil, but you will see that God has a place for you to be protected and safe.

I received a complimentary copy of this book but was not required to leave a review.


Letters from Grace (Love and War Book 1) by Rachel D. Muller

Letters from Grace

Is loving a man in uniform worth the risk?

Scarred from the death of her fiancé in World War II, Grace Campbell must learn to love again. Lieutenant Luke Brady could make falling in love easy…except he’s going to war. There’s one thing that can keep a thread tied between them—letters. But the suave Dr. William Keller enchants Grace with his charm and proposes marriage. She must choose between them. Will she settle for comfort and safety or risk losing everything on the Normandy beaches?

In her debut novel, author Rachel Muller shows us that she has what it takes to write a great historical fiction novel! Having done her research well, Muller gives us the picture of life during WW II.

I had a tough time putting down this page turner. With well-developed characters that pull the reader in, I loved Grace and Luke’s story. With trust in God as the underlying theme, all the feelings are there; heart ache, fear, helplessness, and yes, love. The war scenes are well written and very dramatic. I’m looking forward to reading Book 2!

I received a complimentary copy of this book but was not required to leave a review.


Love Story: A Novel (The Baxter Family Book 1) by Karen Kingsbury

Love Story

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Karen Kingsbury comes a new book featuring everyone’s favorite family—the Baxters, which tells the story of how John and Elizabeth first fell in love.

From the day they met, John and Elizabeth were destined to fall in love. Their whirlwind romance started when they were young college students and lasted nearly thirty years—until Elizabeth died of cancer.

So when John Baxter is asked to relive his long-ago love story with Elizabeth for his grandson Cole’s heritage project, he’s not sure he can do it. The sadness might simply be too great. But he agrees and allows his heart and soul to go places they haven’t gone in decades. Back to the breathless first moments, but also to the secret heartbreak that brought John and Elizabeth together.

At the same time, Baxter family friend Cody Coleman is working through the breakup of his complicated relationship with Andi Ellison. He is determined to move on when a chance sighting changes his plans—and heart. Can Cody convince Andi to give their love another try, or is it time for them to say goodbye for good?

As school comes to an end, Cole presents his report on the love story between his grandparents John and Elizabeth Baxter. It is a tale that touches the hearts of the entire family, and one that causes Cole to better understand his own beginning.

Whether you’re meeting the Baxter family for the first time or finding them all over again, Love Story will stir your heart and remind you of the generational impact of love and the eternal bond of family.

 This touching story of the Baxter Family will melt your heart and show you the value of family. Weaving several stories into one, Kingsbury’s sweet tale illustrates how God redeems when given the opportunity.

As a newbie to the Baxter family (I’ve only read one other book) I really did enjoy this one. The characters are strong, yet human with all the flaws that come with that. I look forward to reading more!


Touch of Danger (Secrets of Rios Azules Book 4) by Alexa Verde


Rookie cop Ivan Vargas blames small-town accountant Julia Morrison for his brother’s suicide, as claimed in the note. When Julia is attacked, Ivan wonders if she’s right about the suicide being staged. He’s determined to find his brother’s killer and keep Julia safe but reluctant to lose his heart to the stubborn beauty who’s known to break them… 
Hurt in the past, Julia has avoided letting men too close. But she needs Ivan’s help to uncover traumatic secrets someone would kill to keep hidden. Can she stay alive long enough to learn to love and trust again?

Secrets of Rios Azules series: sweet, wholesome books about faith, love, and murder. Welcome to Rios Azules, a small Texas town where rivers and emotions run deep, and the secrets are deadly.
Prequel River of Danger (Jacob and River), Book 1 Color of Danger (Luke and Mari), Book 2 Taste of Danger (James and Soledad), Book 3 Scent of Danger (Connor and Maya).

First, let me say that although this is Book 4 it reads well as a stand-alone. Now…

Hang on for the ride of your life! Author Alexa Verde has this book packed full of twists, turns, sinister plots, and the unexpected. Whew! I loved this book! It kept moving to the point that I had trouble breathing. In a good way of course, and I didn’t want to put it down. I just had to see how to resolved.

Refreshing characters that care for each other and have a deep faith in God, they all have a story to tell so you’ll want to read the other books in this series. I promise you do!

I received a complimentary copy of this book but was not required to leave a review.




Previous reviews for 2017