Book Tours

About the Book

Two couples in love. Two sets of impossible circumstances. One powerful God of grace.

After a devastating tailspin in her late teens, Lauren Anderson’s life is finally back on track. Then a chance meeting with Carter Douglas, her first love and the man who broke her heart, threatens to throw her well-balanced world out of control.

Now a TV meteorologist, Carter is determined to make amends with Lauren. After all, she still owns his heart. But his old demons are forcing him toward the same decision he faced in the past. Is he courageous enough to make a different choice this time around?

When Lauren’s elderly grandmother, Rosie, begins having nightmares about a man named Ephraim–a name her family has never heard before—a fascinating and forbidden past love comes to light. As Lauren and Carter work to uncover the untold stories of Rosie’s past in 1950s Wichita, they embark on a journey of forgiveness and second chances that will change their lives—and Rosie’s—forever. Along the way they’ll learn that God wastes nothing, his timing is perfect, and nothing is beyond his grace and redemption.

The Songs That Could Have Been is full of the same deftly handled, resonant writing that readers and critics alike enjoyed in Amanda Wen’s first book in the series, Roots of Wood and Stone. Fans of Lisa Wingate and Rachel Hauck will add Amanda Wen to their must-read shelves.

Click here to read an excerpt.

What Others Are Saying

“A reading experience both heartfelt and heart-tugging, a timeless exploration of young and enduring love and the grace found in second chances. Amanda Wen is a rare and remarkable storyteller, and this is a novel I will not soon forget.” –Amanda Barratt, Christy Award-winning author of The White Rose Resists
 
“A stunning journey of loss, love, and yearning. . . . Past and present are deftly woven together in this dual-timeline narrative that will leave readers flying through the pages.” – Amanda Cox, author of the 2021 Christy Award Book of the Year, The Edge of Belonging

My Review

Author Amanda Wen pens a novel that is rich with detail and emotion; it’s a must read for those who enjoy Christian historical fiction. Wen melds the past and present deftly as her characters learn to forgive and allow a second chance at love. I enjoyed seeing characters from Wen’s first book, Roots of Wood and Stone. However you can read The Songs That Could Have Been as a stand alone.

Dual timelines and dual love stories will keep you reading to figure out what’s going to happen next. And who is Ephraim? (You’ll have to read it to find out.) 

Wen does incorporate some challenging subjects such 1950s inter-racial dating, Alzheimer’s disease, and addiction into her story, but it’s done thoughtfully, not heavy. 

I received a complimentary copy of this book but was not required to leave a review.

About the Author

Amanda Wen is an award-winning writer of inspirational romance and split-time women’s fiction. She has placed first in multiple writing contests, including the 2017 Indiana Golden Opportunity, the 2017 Phoenix Rattler, and the 2016 ACFW First Impressions contests. She was also a 2018 ACFW Genesis Contest finalist. Her debut novel was a 2021 Christy Award First Novel finalist.
 
Wen is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) and regularly contributes author interviews for their Fiction Finder feature. She also frequently interviews authors for her blog and is a contributor to the God Is Love blog. She is the author of Roots of Wood and Stone and The Songs That Could Have Been.
 
In addition to her writing, Wen is an accomplished professional cellist and pianist who frequently performs with orchestras, chamber groups, and her church’s worship team. She serves as a choral accompanist as well. A lifelong denizen of the flatlands, Wen lives in Kansas with her patient, loving, and hilarious husband, their three adorable Wenlets, and a snuggly Siamese cat.
 
To find Amanda Wen’s blog and short stories, visit www.amandawen.com. Readers can also follower her on Facebook (@AuthorAmandaWen)Twitter (@AuthorAmandaWen), and Instagram (@authoramandawen).

Enter here!

40 Responses to Book Tours

  1. Thank you for your wonderful review, Vicky! I’m happy you enjoyed Molly and Derek’s story. Thanks for sharing! xo

    Like

  2. slehan says:

    Good book for summer reading.
    Thanks for the contest.

    Like

  3. I can’t wait to read this! Sounds like a very sweet story.

    Like

  4. carylkane says:

    Vicky, Thank you for sharing your wonderful review!

    Like

  5. vickysluiter says:

    You’re welcome. Such an enjoyable book!

    Like

  6. megan allen says:

    Thanks so much for sharing! I’m adding to my tbr!

    Like

  7. Debbie P says:

    This sounds like a great book.

    Like

  8. Hannah Bartel says:

    This looks like a wonderful book to read!

    Like

  9. slehan says:

    Want to read Sunny first.
    Thanks for the contest.

    Like

  10. jodi683 says:

    Sounds like a super awesome read.

    Like

  11. Linda Geertsma says:

    This sounds like a very great story.. can’t wait to get it and read it

    Like

  12. Beatrice LaRocca says:

    Thank you for sharing your review of this story, this sounds like a wonderful read

    Like

  13. Thank you for sharing! – JustRead Tours

    Like

  14. JustRead Tours says:

    Than you for sharing!

    Like

  15. Shelly Peterson says:

    The Cowboy’s Amish Haven sounds like a good read.

    Like

  16. Shelly Peterson says:

    A Promise of Forgiveness sounds good. I like the cover.

    Like

  17. Thank you for your wonderful review, Vicky! I’m happy you enjoyed reading Searching for Home. I see a lot of old comments, so I hope this finds you. 🙂 I appreciate your friendship and support.

    Like

  18. vickysluiter says:

    It found me! I just love your books. Your style of writing draws me in.

    Like

  19. Kay Garrett says:

    Thank you for your review on ” Searching for Home” by Jill Weatherholt and for being part of the Celebrate Lit blog tour.

    Jill is one author that I just can’t get enough of. Always greatly anticipate each and every book. Love the cover on this one and the storyline is fabulous. How could it not be with triplets? Three times the love! ❤
    2clowns at arkansas dot net

    Like

  20. Eva Millien says:

    Jill, Searching for Home, sounds like my kind of book and I enjoyed following the tour and learning about it! Good luck with your book and I hope the tour was a success! Thank for sharing it with me! Thanks, Vicky for sharing your review and I agree, adorable triplets and a cowboy can not be passed up! Have a fantastic day!

    Like

  21. slehan says:

    Looks like a cute book.
    Thanks for the contest.

    Like

  22. great review, the book sounds really good

    Like

  23. slehan says:

    Sweet Rivalry would be a good book for Spring reading.
    Thanks for the contest.

    Like

  24. Marisela Zuniga says:

    This sounds like such a good book!

    Like

  25. Betsy Barnes says:

    Thank you for your review.

    Like

  26. camillering says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your lovely review for Midnight’s Budding Morrow – I’m so glad you enjoyed.

    Like

  27. Madie says:

    That lodge, the characters, and the mystery all sound really good. Thanks for sharing about this book 🙂 !

    Like

  28. Marisela Zuniga says:

    Undercover assignment sounds like a great book

    Like

  29. Madie says:

    Undercover Assignment sounds like a great mystery, thrillng and heartwarming- thanks for sharing about it 🙂 !

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s